Then and Now – 1100 Bel-Air Road

1958 and 2012. (1958 photos by Harold Davis. 2012 photos via listing)

It was so exciting to learn yesterday from the ever-on-top-of-things Real Estalker that the great Mid-Century estate at 1100 Bel-Air Road has come up for sale not only because it was the longtime base of the legendary Art Linkletter, but also because it was designed by Philmer J. Ellerbroek, an architect whose work I really enjoy. There is a freshness and excitement in his designs that make them a cut above many other such homes of the same era and I always love seeing new works by this talented yet largely unsung designer. The majority of Ellerbroek’s work was done in the South Bay, but he did, as seen here, design houses all over the Southland from Bel-Air to San Bernardino and his work was always top-notch. And he did have some fans in Hollywood too including Ray Milland, Van Heflin and, as I find out, Art Linkletter too.

When I first discovered Ellerbroek I went on a quest to try to find whatever commissions he did and pulled together a post illustrating some of them, which you can find here.

1100 Bel-Air Road, which was originally built in 1956 for Joseph C. Schumacher, an executive of the American Potash and Chemical Company, and his family, became the base of Art Linkletter starting in 1971 and remained his residence over the next decades. It should also be of interest to know that the award-winning Robert Herrick Carter A.I.L.A. was the genius behind the lush landscaping of the 4.6 acre site, which over the decades has filled in and matured beautifully.

Here are some “Then” photos from 1958 and some “Now” photos from well…now, for your enjoyment. Too bad there aren’t any modern interior shots to compare with, but we can imagine, especially after a few of Darren and Sam’s martinis.

The “Activity Room” overlooked the pool.

And still does!

Interior design of the Schumacher Residence was entrusted to Catherine Armstrong A.I.D. and her associate, Alice Monahan of Catherine Armstrong, Inc. This is a view from the entrance hall into the Powder Room. The “Lotus” mural was executed by Robert Crowder Ltd.

A view into the Living Room showing the full-wall fireplace faced with shell stone

The home’s Activity Room. Hi-Fi and Television are secreted away in cabinets.

The Garden Court. Crane is (hopefully) fake.

The open Dining Room looks out on a sunny court.

The master bedroom.

This grand residence is for sale for $10,250,000 and is listed through Joyce Rey @ Coldwell Banker. Her listing can be found here. With 4.6 acres of prime Bel-Air land there is serious worry over the future of this house. Buy it and preserve it please!

This entry was posted in Bel-Air, Paradise For Sale or Lease, Then & Now and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Then and Now – 1100 Bel-Air Road

  1. Jim lewis says:

    I seem to recall that Linkletter moved into a new high-rise apartment building in the Brentwood area in the 60s, and one of his children (perhaps a son) either jumped or fell for the apartment terrace. Perhaps this is why he relocated to the Bel-Air house in the 70s. Four acres – imagine how many tacky houses a developer could cram onto that!

  2. Marvin Stone says:

    Hi Steve . . . like you, I hope this property will be purchased by someone who wants to live in it, not to destroy it to make room for some monstrosity like the Spelling “hotel” replacing the lovely Crosby property and residence on So. Mapleton Drive in Holmby Hills. Certainly nothing in your “now” photos suggests the Bel-Air home is in disrepair to the extent that demolition is “reguired.” For me, there has been simply too much “demolish and replace” in recent years.

  3. Steven Price says:

    Jim — that was his daughter Diane Linkletter who leapt to death from her own sixth-floor apartment in Shoreham Towers in West Hollywood. Pretty certain Art Linkletter did not live in that building.

    Marvin — I’m with you. Even when something is far more ‘gone’ than this (think the Kronish House, in Beverly Hills), it’s possible to restore it. In fact, For someone with an ‘eye’, it’s an unbelievable opportunity…and of course, once it’s done, everyone will say “well, naturally, this is perfect! Who could have EVER wanted to tear it down?”

  4. Steven Price says:

    A few more EXTERIOR photos (scattered among ones we’ve seen before) appear in this article. I guess realtors are walking around the property but not being admitted to photograph inside? I’ve never heard of a house being sold that way, but I’ll take what I can get. http://www.realtor.com/blogs/2012/03/26/mid-century-modern-home-art-linkletter-lists-los-angeles-photos/

  5. Pingback: Inside and Back in Time at Art Linkletter’s House: The very fabulous-looking Bel Air house… | LA News Talk Radio

  6. Steve says:

    Hey all:

    A quick update: I’m noticing that some sources reporting on the house are saying that this house once belonged to Quincy Jones and that Jones sold the house to Art Linkletter. This is a mistake, but an understandable one. Quincy Jones longtime residence has been 1100 Bel-Air Place and the Art Linkletter house is 1100 Bel-Air Road – two separate houses, but easy to confuse.

  7. Pingback: Inside and Back in Time at Art Linkletter’s House: The very fabulous-looking Bel Air house… | LA Prime Realty

  8. Pingback: Inside and Back in Time at Art Linkletter’s House: The very fabulous-looking Bel Air house… | Find An Apartment In La

  9. Pingback: Inside and Back in Time at Art Linkletter’s House: The very fabulous-looking Bel Air house… | Find Apartment In LA

  10. Stacy Wray says:

    I have loved seeing these photos. I grew up the youngest of Art & Lois’s grandchildren. I remember spending so much time in this house and I am sadder than I thought I would be now that it has been put on the market. It truly feels like my childhood home. It was an honor to have such an incredible family home to grow up with but, as with most things, those days have come to an end. My grandparents truly loved living in this home and appreciated the unique design all the 40 years they lived there.

    • Steven Price says:

      Stacy – I think I’ll be speaking for many when i say, what a wonderful, heartfelt and authentic post-script. I truly pray that the next owner values the house and appreciates its unique beauty (updating is one thing, but losing it would be such a tragedy!), creating a new generation of fond memories like yours. Even grown-up kids say the darndest things!

    • I wish I would have won the MEGA millions. I would have purchased this house – sight unseen- and extended an open invite for Stacy to come by anytime she wanted! Just bring me a coffee on your way up….

    • Steve says:

      Thank you SO much Stacy for the wonderful comment. It was so great to hear from you and we are all keeping our fingers crossed that your wonderful childhood home finds an angel. It sure deserves one. I’m optomistic. Thanks again!!!

  11. sh says:

    I just watched a video on the WSJ website where the ‘reporter’ said it was a “teardown”. I was shocked and emailed her. Teardown? Looks like a beautiful example of midcentury architecture to me. Please watch this property. Is it on a historic resource list?

    • Steve says:

      I don’t think it has any specific protections. We can only pray someone with an appreciation for what it is will buy it and preserve it. 4.6 acres of Bel-Air land. I’m sure developers are salivating.

  12. Christine says:

    My name is Christine and I am the granddaughter of Joseph and Theresa Schumacher, the couple that built this beautiful home. Like Stacy above, I have many wonderful memories of swimming in that pool, having a gourmet meal in the beautiful dining room, playing on the “paddle tennis” court and looking for Easter eggs on the property. I remember the layout of the home like it was yesterday. What a joy it was to have been able to be part of this beautiful home and its history. I would be very saddened to see the home torn down for something more mundane.

    • Steve says:

      Christine: Thank you SO much for writing and sharing your personal memories. We are all keeping our fingers crossed this great home will find a new owner who love it and appreciate as much as those who occupied it in the past, like yourself and the Linkletter kids. It would be a true tragedy to lose this wonderful piece of history. If you have an old photo or two that you wouldn’t mind sharing I know people would love to see them. Thanks again!

      • Steven Price says:

        I think it’s wonderful that this home is being remembered so warmly AND that people are recognizing its value (not just in crass dollar terms). As for the reporter who declared it a ‘teardown’, well, that unfortunately is the prevailing attitude here in “Strike The Set” Hollywood/Los Angeles. and too many people have bought into the destructiveness.

  13. Stacy Wray says:

    I am happy to report the house closed this week to a buyer who will not tear it down but will infact upgrade it’s already unique & special design. It really is amazing how this all came about as most every other buyer was interested in a ‘tear down’ only. Steve, I knew you would be interested to know. Thanks again for the great article!

    • Christine Hoffman says:

      Happy news indeed. Now another family can enjoy this gem of a home. My grandparents are smiling about this too.

    • Steven Price says:

      That is FANTASTIC news! Thanks for the heartwarming postscript! I’ll keep my ears open as the MCM tom-toms beat through the hills, to see what the finished result will be.

    • Steve says:

      Yay! The best news possible!! I just did a post announcing it. THANK YOU STACY for letting me know. It not only made my day, but I’m sure it will please many, many others!

  14. Pingback: Miracle on Bel-Air Road! | Paradise Leased

  15. maxine says:

    I am so amazed that both grand daughters have commented on this site! What a wonderful thing.
    I have asked the LA Conservancy to look into some sort of designation for this property. It is iconic Hollywood. I hope it is not torn down

  16. Joe Campi says:

    I had the opportunity to go inside the house this weekend for the Estate Sale by Treasures Estate Sales Inc., and totally fell in love with it. What an awesome example of Mid-Century architecture and what a setting. So glad to here that the new owners will not tear it down. It is in need of some repair and updating (kitchen and baths) but will be sad to loose the green carpet and floral wallpaper in the master bath.
    Check out the estate sale wed site for some interior pictures.
    http://www.estatesales.net/estate-sales/291111.aspx

    • Christine Hoffman says:

      For some reason, I didn’t see this post when it was made last June. I’ve looked through the photos and recognize some of the paintings that were on the walls when my grandparents, the original owners, were in the home. I was under the impression that some of the works were by my grandmother, an amateur artist. I could be wrong on this point. At any rate, I’d love to learn if they sold and if they were her works, and if they drew any attention. If they were her things and didn’t sell, I’d like to learn more. Thank you for handling this beautiful project.

  17. Keat Bollenbach says:

    Thank you for the wonderful pics & post!! I’m planning a home south of here on Nimes Place & saw 1100 before it was purchased. The pics are a phenomenal reference. Thank you!!! The experience of having the opportunity to walk through the home made a profound impact on me. I hope the home I’m planning turns out 1/2 as nice. The new BHO LA DBS rules & regulations are very difficult to comply with, but I’m very excited to get the opportunity to try. Unfortunately there are many unintended consequences to the new Baseline Hillside Ordinance the City past last year. Regardless I’ll do my best to build something comparable. Does anyone have floorplans? I’d love to appropriate many of the 1100 elements. I don’t know if its correct, but my broker told me the new owner is considering renovating the existing home. I’m pretty big on property rights, but I sure hope he preserves as much as is feasible. It is a wonderful home.

  18. Lisa Davenport says:

    I came across this post looking after googling the landscaper, Robert Herrick Carter. My boss recently purchased Carter’s old office building on National Blvd and would love to know what it used to look like in Carter’s day as a guide to restoration. Would you possibly have a lead on old photos of the place? It was sadly neglected over the years after Carter and needs help! Thank you.

    • Steven Price says:

      Lisa, i’ve forwarded your comment to a mutual friend of Paradise Leased and mine who is a great authority on landscape architects. Let’s hope he replies here!

      • maxine greenspan says:

        Wow! I don’t know how you found my email address, but I you are a goldmine of information and knowledge. Thank you! We need to TALK! Please email me. Thank so much.

        Maxine Greenspan maxinegr@mac.com

  19. thehousestalker says:

    Hi, wanted to let you know that in November of 2012 I was lucky to get on the property and photograph this awesome house and fell in live with it. Swung by there last weekend and the entire house and landscape is gone with the exception of 1 decorative block facade .
    Even the pool was destroyed. Very, very sad.

    • sh says:

      Someone paid $10,600,000 for the privilege of destroying this elegant home. Sad.

      http://www.redfin.com/CA/Los-Angeles/1100-Bel-Air-Rd-90077/home/6830122

      • Christine Hoffman says:

        Oh, I’m just heartbroken. My grandparents pride and joy destroyed. What a sad day it is. At least I still have my wonderful memories of this beautiful Architectural Digest home.

      • thehousestalker says:

        I’d be glad to share my before and after shots.
        I also shot a video. Let me know! I have to say, I am equally heartbroken myself as I am for the family.i can’t imagine what it must feel like for someone who grew up in that incredible space. I imagine racing bikes in that incredible car port….!
        There is NO chance judging by what is left, that any restoration is planned. The person who bought it clearly wanted the address and the view and that’s it. I’m sorry to be the bearer of the news.

    • Steven Price says:

      Oh My Gosh — that’s heartbreaking; disgraceful. I’d hoped from eariler reports that it would be saved/resrtored, added onto, whatever….it was such a GREAT house. not to doubt you, but i simply must see for myself, and will see if i can’t get a photo or twoo. I’ll ask Steve to post them if he thinks it’s appr0priate. So very saddedened!!!!!

    • Steve says:

      Oh no! I’ve been behind on the blog lately and just had a moment to review comments. I can’t believe it. Actually, it’s L.A. so, of course, I can. But I’m still shocked. The worst part is the new purchaser had made it clear they would “preserve” the house. We were all thrilled. A cruel trick of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory. How sad. I’m sure they’ll tell you it was full of termites. Can’t wait to see its replacement. I’m sure it will be gigantic.

      Thank you for reporting this. And if you could please send some pictures I’d surely post them on the blog if you’d be OK with that. Please send them to the blog e-mail address of paradiseleasedblog@yahoo.com.

      • andreamint@yahoo.com says:

        I’ll be glad to send you some photos, will do so tomorrow. Just spoke to a real estate agent who was representing the Modern Committee At the LA Modernism show about it today…:( Best

        Andrea

        Sent from my iPad

      • Steve says:

        Thanks Andrea! What a shame.

Leave a Reply

